h1

What Did You Say?

February 21, 2010

There were a few barriers to entry into dubstep for me. The first, you can’t really dance to it– I mean, yeah, you can dance to it, but it’s more of a dark, introverted, full-body experience than the mega rush you get from electro and house. Secondly, dubstep put me into this mysteriously depressive trance that felt like I was getting smothered by a pillow. Most people would give up on the genre after these descriptions, but not I. I prevailed.

I realized all I needed was a fresh take on a familiar sound. Skream’s remix of La Roux had the blog world lit up last year, but still it didn’t win me over completely. Roksonix’s remix of Imogen Heap’s “Hide & Seek” is new, exciting, and most importantly, easily accessible to the novice dubstep listener. It’s a tough genre to break into, but the rewards are limitless once you do. You want to get into dubstep? Listen to this–

Imogen Heap – “Hide & Seek (Roksonix Remix)”

*****

Leave a comment